What eight years of George W. Bush hath wrought.


Paul Krugman writes today that a friend concluded, after yesterday’s maverick-y fiasco in Washington, that “we’ve become a banana republic with nukes.”

Which reminds me of an email I received from my pal Scoats a while back, describing how America 2008 looked to him upon his return from a trip to Iceland: “It’s often like being in 1930 Berlin, or watching the fall of the Roman Empire from a front row seat.”

I used the headline above even at the risk of having my friend Rick go ballistic again in Comments ’cause that’s the kinda guy I am, facing down without fear a man who has been trained to kill using merely his pinkie.

Leave a Reply

