I Hope to Make My Choice by the Pennsylvania Primary. Or Not.


I remain all over the lot about the Democratic nominee, torn between Hillary’s competence and Barack’s charisma. One of my favorite bloggers, James Wolcott, who voted for the former in yesterday’s New York Primary, sums up my primary concern about the latter in this comment:

I can picture President Hillary in the White House dealing with a recalcitrant Republican faction; I can’t picture President Obama in the same role because his summons to history and call to hope seems to transcend legislative maneuvers and horse-trading; his charisma is on a more ethereal plane, and I don’t look to politics for transcendence and self-certification.

And yet, and yet…

I don’t want to become one of those people who rejects hope and promise and youth out of inchoate fear, but I have seen enough of the right wing horror show over the past 16 years to know that idealism, charm and vision aren’t about to change it or the people who thrive on hate. Indeed, idealism, charm and vision are almost anathema to them.

Super Tuesday seems to have cemented the inevitability of McCain. Chances are he will take Huckabee as his running mate. And therein lies the secret story of the coming presidential race. McCain’s greatest appeal is in the Blue states, states he almost surely cannot win in November, underlining the fact that hardcore Republicans, for the most part, hate his ass. Huckabee helps only in the south and not even universally there and his backwoods religious beliefs scare the bejeezus out of most of the rest of the nation.

In a year when it would seem the GOP can’t win under any circumstances given the burden of the Bush/Cheney legacy, the party’s strongest candidates now appear to exemplify that assumption.

The real fun of the coming weeks will watching Limbaugh, Ingram, Hannity and that crowd walk themselves back from their anti-McCain stances while trying to maintain that they are still the voice of the conservative movement, tattered though it might be. I predict the best laugh will come when the despicable Ann Coulter tries to explain away her “I’ll work for Hillary before I’ll vote for McCain” comment with something charming like “all Democrats are faggots” or the like.

The way all this is playing out for the Democrats, by the way, it is entirely possible that the Pennsylvania Primary on April 22 could be pivotal.

Yikes. My vote could actually count.

6 Replies to “I Hope to Make My Choice by the Pennsylvania Primary. Or Not.”

  1. I finally manage to read a bit of your multiple blogs, and find that my thoughts on the Dems mirror yours quite a bit. I’m really torn at the moment – I really LIKE Bill Clinton, he’s one of the few presidential candidates in my lifetime that I’ve actually voted FOR (I mostly vote agin the other guy), but I’ve been really turned off by the talk from him lately. It’s one thing to go after the folks you disagree with this way, but some of the stuff they’ve been saying about Obama bugs me.

    I’m just afraid Obama will be ineffective, and not in a good way.

  2. I pretty much agree, although aside from his stupid comments, I find that the Clinton presidency doesn’t look quite as good in hindsight as it did at the time. Plus, just as history will, I find him guilty of blowing an incredible opportunity to achieve a lot more because he gave his enemies the ammunition to hamstring him.

    So, yeah, it’s either another Clinton and all that brings with it or a guy without much more substance, so far, than the ability to inspire. Either is preferable to the alternative to an almost unmeasurable degree in my view but I sure wish it was easier to decide. This morning I’m leaning Clinton but who knows where I’ll be this afternoon.

  3. I know what you mean about the Clinton administration – my biggest gripe was with what he DIDN’T do than what he did.

    I’m tending, these days, to think the right course is one I read somewhere (who knows where by this time), which is the candidate to choose is the one most likely to bring about higher Democratic presence in the Congress. On that standard, I think you have to go with Obama – Clinton is just too highly disregarded on the far right, that if she were running, it would bring out more of those folks to vote against her, who would then be voting for the Congresscritters of their choice, also. Of course, it WOULD be fun hearing Ann Coulter campaigning for Clinton against McCain – that IS what she said, right?

  4. >Of course, it WOULD be fun hearing Ann Coulter campaigning for Clinton against McCain – that IS what she said, right?<

    That’s what she said.

  5. re: Ann Coulter

    Ah, but don’t forget the right-wing-talk-loon’s favorite trick. They’ll say something outrageous, then deny they said what they said, get offended when people point out they said what they said, attack the people who point out they said what they said, when the record clearly shows they said what they said.

    Now give me some m-f’ing iced tea.

Leave a Reply

